Genomics Research Unit

Competences

Main axes of research

The Genomics Research Unit actively collaborates with many national and foreign institutions to advance genomics research in areas as diverse as health, food tracing and environmental issues. Equipped with a wide range of state-of-the-art technology platforms, the facility aims to provide comprehensive, quality and reliable services for academic and private sector scientists alike. The Centre offers expertise and know-how in molecular and cell biology, biostatistics and bioinformatics.

Current research projects

The Genomics Research Unit participates in 16 projects and carries out research in genomics and bioinformatics.

Alternative splicing (AS) in lung cancer project: AS of gene transcripts is a process which generates multiple functional variants from individual genes. In cancers, AS is significantly altered, and there is indication that alternative and aberrant splice variants may have an impact on major aspects of tumour biology, such as proliferation, invasion, motility and metastasis. The project aims to identify and characterise lung cancer-specific transcript variants as putative biomarkers and targets for diagnostic, prognostic, and treatment purposes. The project focuses on the alterations in gene expression which take place following the interaction of tumour cells with their microenvironment.

Actinome project: We designed a thematic microarray called Actichip, a tool to profile the expression level of about 2.000 genes coding for key proteins from the actin cytoskeleton and associated regulatory pathways. We analysed the transcriptome of various human normal and tumour specimens and cell lines, and identified groups of genes with significant expression patterns which are characteristic of each of the sample types. We were able to discriminate normal and tumour samples and to classify them into distinct histopathological subgroups. We built a large gene expression database by retrieving, re-annotating, filtering and normalising data available in public repositories.

Resources and collaborations

Equipment

  • Affymetrix GeneChip and Agilent microarray platforms
  • Microarray fluorescence scanners (Genepix 4000 B and Agilent)
  • Microarrayer Microgrid II (production of microarrays through printing of cDNA, oligonucleotides or proteins on microscopy slides
  • Tissue microarrayer (3D Histech)
  • 2100 Bioanalyser from Agilent Technologies (microfluidics-based platform for the automated analysis of nucleic acids and proteins )
  • Nanodrop ND-1000 Spectrophotometer (for highly accurate analyses of extremely small samples (as low as 1 µL) with high reproducibility)
  • Liquid handling robot Microlab Star for the automation of sample picking and dilutions and microplate reformatting
  • Several specialised and high performance software (Genepix Pro, MAIA, Acuity, Partek Genomics Suite, Ingenuity pathway analysis)
  • R and Bioconductor tools for bioinformatics and computational biology
  • A home made program for the design of oligonucleotide probes

Products and services

  • Genome-wide studies (DNA, mRNA or miRNA profiling), tissue microarrays, sample preparation and quality control, hybridisation and scanning, biostatistics and bioinformatics microarray data processing and mining)
  • Conception and production of custom microarrays (DNA-, oligonuceotide- or protein-based)
  • Training of end users

Major partnerships and collaborations

National: LIH: Laboratory of Experimental Hemato-Oncology (Dr. G. Berchem), Norlux Neuro-Oncology Laboratory (Dr. S. Niclou), Laboratory of Immunogenetics and Allergology (Dr. F. Hentges), Laboratory of Retrovirology (Dr.JC. Schmit), Department of Immunology (Prof.CP Muller); IBBL; LIST (Dr. L. Hoffmann); University of Luxembourg: Life sciences RU

International: Institut de génétique et de biologie moléculaire et cellulaire (IGBMC), Strasbourg (FR); Institut de la vision, Paris (FR); Institut de génétique moléculaire, Montpellier (FR); Institut de Génétique humaine, Montpellier (FR); UMR CNRS 6237 MEDyC, Reims (FR); Institut Gustave Roussy, Villejuif (FR); Cancéropôle du Grand Est, Strasbourg (FR); Institute of Oncology, University of Umea (SE); Translational Genomics Institute (TGen) (USA)

Additional information

  • The Genomics Research Unit coordinates and takes part in projects based, in all or partly, on microarray technology
  • Open to academic and industrial research laboratories and collaborates with many Luxembourg or foreign institutions
  • Even if the research themes undertaken by the Genomics Research Unit are diverse, the bulk of the projects that it leads are mainly linked with oncology

Human resources

  • 6 Researchers (Prof., ass. Prof., Post-docs, PhD)
  • 0 Doctoral students and students
  • 0 Engineers
  • 1 Technicians
  • 0 Other

Business sector(s)

  • Life Sciences, health and biotechnology

Contact

Genomics Research Unit
84, Val Fleuri, L-1526 Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Phone: +352 26 97 02 81
Fax: +352 26 97 03 90
Email: laurent.vallar@lih.lu
Site: http://www.lih.lu

R&D Contact

Dr. VALLAR Laurent
Head of Research Unit
Phone: +352 26 97 02 81
Email: laurent.vallar@lih.lu

  • Updated 29-06-2015

Unité de recherche en génomique

Compétences

Principaux axes de recherche

L'Unité de recherche en génomique collabore activement avec de nombreuses institutions de recherche nationales et étrangères sur des projets centrés sur la génomique ayant des centre d’intérêt aussi divers que la santé, la traçabilité des aliments et les problèmes liés à l’environnement. Équipé d’un large éventail de plates-formes technologiques de pointe, le centre a pour but de fournir des services de qualité exhaustifs et fiables tant aux scientifiques du secteur universitaire qu’à ceux du secteur privé. Le centre propose ses compétences et son savoir-faire en matière de biologie moléculaire et cellulaire, de biostatistiques et de bio-informatique.

Projets de recherche en cours

L'Unité de recherche en génomique participe en tant que partenaire à 16 projets et effectue des recherches propres en génomique et bio-informatique.

Épissage alternatif dans le projet lié au cancer pulmonaire: l’épissage alternatif des gènes est un processus qui génère plusieurs variants fonctionnelles à partir de gènes individuels. Dans les cancers, l’épissage alternatif est considérablement altéré et tout porte à croire que les variants d’épissage alternatif et aberrant ont un impact sur des aspects majeurs de la biologie des tumeurs, notamment sur leur prolifération, leur invasion, leur motilité et leurs métastases. Le projet a pour but d’identifier et de caractériser les variants de transcription propres au cancer pulmonaire sous forme de biomarqueurs potentiels et de cibles à des fins de diagnostic, pronostic et thérapeutique. Le projet se concentre sur les altérations de l’expression des gènes qui se produisent suite à l’interaction des cellules tumorales avec leur micro-environnement.

Projet Actinome: nous avons conçu une puce à ADN thématique appelée Actichip, un outil permettant de déterminer le profil du niveau d’expression d’environ 2.000 gènes à l’origine du codage de protéines clés impliquées dans le cytosquelette d’actine et de voies de régulation associées. Nous avons analysé le transcriptome d’échantillons et de lignées tumoraux et normaux d’origine humaine, puis identifié des groupes de gènes dotés de profils d’expression caractéristiques de chaque type d’échantillon. Nous avons été en mesure de discriminer les échantillons normaux et tumoraux, afin de les classer dans des sous-groupes histopathologiques distincts. Nous avons créé une volumineuse base de données d’expressions de gènes en récupérant, ré-annotant, filtrant et normalisant les données disponibles dans des banques de données publiques.

Ressources et collaborations

Equipement

  • Plates-formes de puces à ADN Affymetrix GeneChip et Agilent
  • Lecteur de fluorescence à excitation laser pour puces à ADN (Genepix 4000 B et Agilent)
  • Système robotisé Microgrid II (fabrication de puces à ADN via l’impression d’ADN complémentaire, d’oligonucléotides ou de protéines sur des lames de microscopie)
  • "Tissue microarrayer" (3D Histech)
  • Bioanalyzer 2100 d’Agilent Technologies (plate-forme microfluidique pour l’analyse automatique d’acides nucléiques et de protéines)
  • Spectrophotomètre Nanodrop ND-1000 (pour l’analyse de haute précision de faibles volumes d’échantillon (1 μL) avec une grande sensibilité)
  • Système robotisé de manipulation d’échantillons liquides (MicroLab Star) pour automatiser le prélèvement, les dilutions et la combinaison de microplaques de titration
  • Plusieurs logiciels spécialisés de haute performance (Genepix Pro, MAIA, Acuity, Partek Genomics Suite, Ingenuity Pathway Analysis)
  • Outils R et Bioconductor pour la bio-informatique (informatique biologique)
  • Logiciel développé en interne pour la conception de sondes oligonucléotidiques

Produits et services (y compris méthodes, procédés et technologies)

  • Études génomiques (profil d’ADN, d’ARNm ou de micro-ARN), puces à tissus, préparation d’échantillons et contrôle de la qualité, hybridation et analyses biostatistiques et bio-informatiques, traitement et exploration de données de puces à ADN
  • Conception et production de puces personnalisées (à ADN, à oligonucléotides ou à protéines)
  • Formation des utilisateurs externes

Principaux partenariats et/ou collaborations (national et international)

National : LIH: Laboratoire d’Hémato-Cancérologie Expérimentale (Dr. G. Berchem), Norlux Neuro-Oncology Laboratory (Dr. S. Niclou), Laboratoire d’immunogénétique et d’allergologie (Dr F. Hentges), Laboratoire de rétrovirologie (Dr J.C. Schmit), Département d’immunologie (Prof. C.P. Muller); IBBL; LIST (Dr L. Hoffmann); Université du Luxembourg: Unité de recherche en sciences de la vie

International: Institut de génétique et de biologie moléculaire et cellulaire (IGBMC), Strasbourg (FR); Institut de la vision, Paris (FR); Institut de génétique moléculaire, Montpellier (FR); Institut de Génétique humaine, Montpellier (FR); UMR CNRS 6237 MEDyC, Reims (FR); Institut Gustave Roussy, Villejuif (FR); Cancéropôle du Grand Est, Strasbourg (FR); Institute of Oncology, University of Umea (SE); Translational Genomics Institute (TGen) (USA)

Informations supplémentaires

  • L'Unité de recherche en génomique coordonne ou prend part à de nombreux projets axés, en totalité ou en partie, sur la technologie des puces à ADN
  • Le centre est ouvert aux laboratoires de recherche universitaires ou industriels et collabore avec de nombreuses institutions luxembourgeoises ou étrangères
  • Si les thèmes de recherche abordés par l'Unité de recherche en génomique sont variés, le cœur de son activité est tourné vers des projets dans le domaine de l’oncologie

Ressources humaines

  • 6 Chercheurs (Prof., ass. Prof., Post-docs, Dr.)
  • 0 Doctorants et étudiants
  • 0 Ingénieurs
  • 1 Techniciens
  • 0 Autres

Secteur(s) d'activité(s)

  • Sciences de la vie, santé et biotechnologie

Contact

Unité de recherche en génomique
84, Val Fleuri, L-1526 Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Tél. : +352 26 97 02 81
Fax : +352 26 97 03 90
E-mail : laurent.vallar@lih.lu
Site : http://www.lih.lu

Personne de contact R&D

Dr. VALLAR Laurent
Head of Research Unit
Tél. : +352 26 97 02 81
E-mail : laurent.vallar@lih.lu

  • Mis à jour le 29-06-2015