Physical Activity, Sport & Health

Competences

Main axes of research

The grope is involved in two main research axes.

Sports injury prevention

  • Sports injuries have been recognised as a serious public health burden. We have carried out research projects on sports injuries in different contexts, such as youth sport, semi-professional football or the army. Especially, our expertise in the evaluation of the effect of shoe features on running-related injuries and biomechanics is recognized internationally. This research was published in the highest ranked peer-reviewed scientific journals in Sports Medicine. We will pursue our research activities in sports injury aiming at developing new methodological approaches to collect objective data in the field, improving the ability to identify individuals at higher injury risk and setting up interventions to test new preventive measures. New technologies will be identified, validated and appropriately tested for their usability.

Physical Activity assessment

  • Despite growing evidence of the importance of physical activity for health across the lifespan, our lifestyles are increasingly sedentary as shown by the poor adherence to recommendations on physical activity in most countries. A key limitation of current recommendations is that the evidence is based on findings using self-assessment questionnaires and focusing mainly on moderate-to-vigorous physical activity. Therefore, there is a need to better understand which dimensions of physical activity shape health outcomes. The use of accelerometers is an emerging opportunity to extract measures of intensity, duration and accumulation patterns of physical activity, as well as to investigate the association between physical activity metrics and health. However, there are considerable methodological challenges in the construction of relevant physical activity metrics from raw data. We will apply innovative methods to identify physical activity patterns, investigate their association with health conditions, and aim to use them in personalised interventions.

Current research projects

  • Shoe cushioning, body mass and running biomechanics as risk factors for running injury: The main purpose of this project is to investigate the association between shoe cushioning, body mass and the risk of running-related injury in recreational runners. The secondary aims are to identify which of the running technique-related characteristics (spatiotemporal variables and impact forces) are associated with injury risk, and which of them are influenced by the cushioning properties of the shoes.
  • Advanced analytical methods to assess physical activity behaviour using accelerometer raw time series data. This scoping review looks at analytical methods that go beyond total physical activity volume, average daily acceleration and the conventional cut-point approaches, involving tri-axial accelerometer data from any sensor attachment location, and covering both data- and knowledge driven techniques.
  • Accelerometry-based physical activity metrics and their association with non-communicable diseases in Luxembourg (data from ORISCAV-LUX study).

Resources and collaborations

Equipment

Hardware

  • Triaxial accelerometers (Actigraph wGT3XP)

Software

  • STATA, R, MATLAB

Products and services

  • Sports injury surveillance and training load quantification
  • Assessment of the effectiveness of sports equipment on injury prevention
  • Measurement of physical activity, physical function and fittness

 

Major partnerships and collaborations

  • Luxembourg Institute of Socio-Economic Research (LISER)
  • Fédération Luxembourgeoise des Associations Sport Santé (FLASS)
  • Fertilizers SAS (Luxembourg)
  • Decathlon (Villeneuve d'Ascq, France)
  • Arsalis (Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgique)
  • Gent University (Belgique)
  • Aarhus University (Denmark)
  • École nationale de la statistique et de l'analyse de l'information (ENSAI, France)
  • Aix-Marseilles University (AMU, France)
  • La Trobe University (Melbourne, Australia)

Human resources

  • 1 Researchers (Prof., ass. Prof., Post-docs, PhD)
  • 0 Doctoral students and students
  • 1 Engineers
  • 0 Technicians
  • 0 Other

Business sector(s)

  • Life Sciences, health and biotechnology

Contact

Physical Activity, Sport & Health
76, rue d'Eich
Luxembourg
Phone: +352 26 97 02 31
Email: laurent.malisoux@lih.lu
Site: https://pash.lih.lu/

R&D Contact

Malisoux Laurent
Group Leader
Phone: +352 26 97 02 31
Email: laurent.malisoux@lih.lu

  • Updated 26-11-2020

Activité Physique, Sport & Santé

Compétences

Principaux axes de recherche

La prévention des blessures sportives

  • La blessure sportive est reconnue comme un vrai problème de santé publique. Nous avons réalisé plusieurs projets de recherche sur les blessures sportives dans différents contextes, tels que les jeunes sportifs, le football semi-professionnel ou l’armée. Plus particulièrement, notre expertise dans l’évaluation de l’effet des propriétés des chaussures de course à pied sur le risque de blessure et la biomécanique est reconnue internationalement. Cette recherche a été publiée dans les journaux scientifiques les plus prestigieux en médecine du sport. Nous poursuivrons nos activités de recherche sur les blessures sportives dans ce domaine avec pour objectif de développer de nouvelles approches méthodologiques pour collecter des données objectives sur le terrain, améliorer notre capacité à identifier les individus qui montrent un risque accru de blessure, et mettre en place des études interventionnelles afin de tester de nouvelles mesures de prévention.

Evaluation de l'Activité Physique

  • Malgré des faisceaux de preuves de plus en plus nombreux sur l’importance de l’activité physique (AP) pour la santé, nos styles de vie sont de plus en plus sédentaires, comme le démontre l’adhérence très limitée aux recommandations pour l’AP dans de nombreux pays. Une limitation majeure de ces recommandations est quelles sont basées sur des observations faites à partir de questionnaires et focalisées principalement sur l’AP modérée à vigoureuse. Il est nécessaire de mieux comprendre quelles sont les dimensions de l’AP qui déterminent notre santé. Les accéléromètres constituent une opportunité pour extraire des mesures sur l’intensité, la durée et les patterns d’accumulation de l’AP. Nous appliquerons des méthodes innovantes pour identifier de patterns d’AP, étudier leur association avec des conditions de santé, et utiliser ces patterns pour des interventions personnalisées.

Projets de recherche en cours

  • Amorti de la chaussure, masse corporelle et biomécanique de la course: Quels sont les facteurs de risque de blessure en course à pied ? L'objectif principal de ce projet est d'étudier l'association entre l'amorti de la chaussure, la masse corporelle et le risque de blessure chez les coureurs de loisir. L'objectif secondaire et d'identifier quelles sont les caractéristiques de la technique de course (variables spatio-temporelles et forces d'impact) sont associées au risque de blessure, et lesquelles sont influencées par les propriétés d'amorti de la chaussure.
  • Méthodes analytiques avancées pour évaluer l’activité physique à partir de données brutes de séries chronologiques provenant des accéléromètres. Cette scoping review porte sur les méthodes analytiques qui vont au-delà du volume total d’activité physique, l’accélération quotidienne moyenne, et les approches conventionnelles faisant appel à des seuils, impliquant des accéléromètres triaxiaux, peu importe le lieu de fixation, et couvrant à la fois les techniques dérivées des données et celles découlant des connaissances.
  • Les métriques de l’activité physique dérivés des accéléromètres et leur association avec les maladies non-transmissibles au Luxembourg (à partir de données de l’étude ORISCAV-LUX).

Ressources et collaborations

Equipement

Hardware

  • Accéléromètres triaxiaux (Actigraph wGT3XP)

Software

  • STATA, R, MATLAB

 

Produits et services (y compris méthodes, procédés et technologies)

  • Surveillance des blessures sportives et quantification de la charge d'entrainement
  • Evaluation de l'efficacité d'un équipement sportif pour la prévention des blessures
  • Mesure de l'activité physique et de l'état physique fonctionel, et de la condition physique.

Principaux partenariats et/ou collaborations (national et international)

  • Luxembourg Institute of Socio-Economic Research (LISER)
  • Fédération Luxembourgeoise des Associations Sport Santé (FLASS)
  • Fertilizers SAS (Luxembourg)
  • Decathlon (Villeneuve d'Ascq, France)
  • Arsalis (Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgique)
  • Gent University (Belgique)
  • Aarhus University (Denmark)
  • École nationale de la statistique et de l'analyse de l'information (ENSAI, France)
  • Aix-Marseilles University (AMU, France)
  • La Trobe University (Melbourne, Australia)

Ressources humaines

  • 1 Chercheurs (Prof., ass. Prof., Post-docs, Dr.)
  • 0 Doctorants et étudiants
  • 1 Ingénieurs
  • 0 Techniciens
  • 0 Autres

Secteur(s) d'activité(s)

  • Sciences de la vie, santé et biotechnologie

Contact

Activité Physique, Sport & Santé
76, rue d'Eich
Luxembourg
Tél. : +352 26 97 02 31
E-mail : laurent.malisoux@lih.lu
Site : https://pash.lih.lu/

Personne de contact R&D

Malisoux Laurent
Group Leader
Tél. : +352 26 97 02 31
E-mail : laurent.malisoux@lih.lu

  • Mis à jour le 26-11-2020