Materials Research and Technology (MRT)

Competences

Main axes of research

The Department Materials Research and Technology (MRT) translates cutting-edge materials research into applicable technology.

Its activities span from Nanomaterials and enabling Nanotechnology to Sustainable Composite Materials. A transversal Central Materials Laboratory mutualises MRT's considerable expertise and equipment ranging from polymer and thin film processing to nano-fabrication, prototyping and functional measurements. MRT's research is further strengthened by a Platform for Advanced Characterization. Finally, the Department operates a Technology line, which focuses on the development of scientific instruments based on charged particle beams for nano-imaging and nano-analysis.

 

Current research projects

Sensors and actuators, Photocatalysis and energy harvesters, Transparent electronics and smart nanocomposites, Modelling and design of structures and multifunctional composites, Bio-based polymers and composites, Adhesion and compatibilization of fibres/matrix, Process engineering and advanced manufacturing, Functional Coatings.

Resources and collaborations

Equipment

Our Central Materials Laboratory offers a unique variety of expertise and pools cutting-edge equipment for coating, thin films, particle engineering, nano-fabrication, prototyping and functional measurements.

We offer to our clients access to these expertise and equipment for their own research and innovation projects and propose via our Materials Characterisation and Testing Platform a wide range of standardized and made-to-measure services in: Molecular analysis, Surface and elementary analysis, Structure, morphology and topography, Mechanical testing and accelerated ageing, Fire behaviour and thermo-phyical analysis

 

Products and services

Nanomaterials and Nanotechnology  / Sustainable Polymeric & Composite Materials / Central Materials Laboratory  / Advanced Instrumentation for Ion Nano-Analytics

Major partnerships and collaborations

national and international

Human resources

  • 50 Researchers (Prof., ass. Prof., Post-docs, PhD)
  • 20 Doctoral students and students
  • 10 Engineers
  • 5 Technicians
  • 5 Other

Business sector(s)

  • Engineering
  • Materials and surface treatment

Contact

Materials Research and Technology (MRT)
5, Avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux
Luxembourg
Phone: 003522758881
Email: info@list.lu

R&D Contact

Director of Materials Research and Technology department KREISEL Jens
Prof. Dr
Phone: 003522758881
Email: info@list.lu

  • Updated 05-03-2018

Materials Research and Technology (MRT)

Compétences

Principaux axes de recherche

Le département "Materials Research and Technology" (MRT) du LIST travaille à la transformation de la recherche de pointe sur les matériaux en technologies applicables.

Ses activités portent principalement sur les technologies clés génériques suivantes : les nanomatériaux, les nanotechnologies ainsi que les matériaux composites. De manière transverse aux activités du département, un Laboratoire Central pour les Matériaux mutualise l'expertise considérable et les équipements de MRT, allant du traitement des polymères et films minces à la nano fabrication, prototypage et analyses fonctionnelles. Enfin, le département a défini une ligne technologique qui met l'accent sur le développement d'instruments de pointe nano-analyses par faisceaux d'ions.

 

Projets de recherche en cours

Matériaux conducteurs et capteurs, Photocatalyseur et capteurs d'énergie. Semiconducteurs transparents et nanocomposites optoélectroniques accordables, Nanotechnologies avancées, Modélisation et conception de structures et de composites multi-fonctionnels,Bio-polymères et bio-composites, Adhésion et compatibilisation fibres / matrice, Ingéniérie de procédé et technologies de fabrication de pointe.

Ressources et collaborations

Equipement

Au sein de notre Laboratoire Central pour les Matériaux, nous proposons une variété unique d'expertise et d'équipements à la pointe de la technologie, auxquelles nos clients ont la possibilité d'accéder pour leurs propres recherches et projets innovants.

Une large gamme de services standardisés et sur-mesure sont ainsi à leur dispositionvia notre plate-forme de Caractérisation et d'Essais des Matériaux. Ces services à la disposition de nos partenaires et clients comprennent notamment : analyses moléculaires, analyses de surface et élémentaire, structure, morphologie et topographie, testing mécanique et vieillissement accéléré, comportement du feu et analyses thermo-physiques.

 

Produits et services (y compris méthodes, procédés et technologies)

Nanomaterials and Nanotechnology  / Sustainable Polymeric & Composite Materials / Central Materials Laboratory  / Advanced Instrumentation for Ion Nano-Analytics

Principaux partenariats et/ou collaborations (national et international)

national et international

Ressources humaines

  • 50 Chercheurs (Prof., ass. Prof., Post-docs, Dr.)
  • 20 Doctorants et étudiants
  • 10 Ingénieurs
  • 5 Techniciens
  • 5 Autres

Secteur(s) d'activité(s)

  • Ingénierie
  • Matériaux et traitement de surfaces

Contact

Materials Research and Technology (MRT)
5, Avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux
Luxembourg
Tél. : 003522758881
E-mail : info@list.lu

Personne de contact R&D

Director of Materials Research and Technology department KREISEL Jens
Prof. Dr
Tél. : 003522758881
E-mail : info@list.lu

  • Mis à jour le 05-03-2018