Identities. Policies, Societies, Spaces (IPSE)

Competences

Main axes of research

IPSE is a multi- and transdisciplinary research unit studying society and its developments over time and space. It responds to the needs of the Luxembourgish society to reflect upon itself, in order to understand the important evolutions that society is currently experiencing in its double context of the Greater Region and the European Union.

The unit brings together researchers from the fields of history, geography and spatial planning, literature and linguistics, the arts, philosophy, political and social sciences. The main objective is to study, in a comparative way, the construction of new identities seen as a plural and dynamic concept as well as its correlations with diversity and integration.

Luxembourg with its quite heterogeneous society, a challenge but also an opportunity, could in this way be a unique test case in the European area.

Research is structured in two overarching research programmes:

  • “Luxembourg Studies” provides a more enlightened understanding of the future evolution of culture, linguistic, social, political and economic of Luxembourg, by studying issues such as interculturality, multilingualism, migration and diversity, social cohesion and equity, gender and changes in values and references;
  • “European Governance” provides a comparative approach at the European level on the questions of social cohesion and identities, social construction of spaces and borders, decision-making processes and legitimisation as well as the place of Europe in the world.

Current research projects

The Research Unit IPSE has currently about 60 research projects covering the different disciplines represented in IPSE (History, Political Science, Sociology, German, French and Luxembourgish Language and Literature, Geography and Spatial Planning, Arts, Philosophy and Gender Studies). They concern themselves, partly from an interdisciplinary perspective, with crucial social issues pertaining to Luxembourg, the Greater Region and Europe. Furthermore, the numerous research activities also include collaboration in the framework of several international networks on a European level.

For further information please consult the website under the following link: http://ipse.uni.lu (-> research)

 

Resources and collaborations

Equipment

  • Archives and libraries with electronic databases
  • Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

Products and services

  • Know-how and expertise in more than 10 disciplines from the humanities and social sciences
  • Quantitative and qualitative research methods

Major partnerships and collaborations

AGORA; Dexia; CEPS/INSTEAD; Ministry of the Interior and Territorial Planning; Ministry of Higher Education and Research; Ministry for Equal Opportunities; Chambre des Députés, Public Research Centre - Henri Tudor; Public Research Centre - Gabriel Lippmann; universities (in Luxembourg and abroad); cultural institutions; several associations.

Human resources

  • 98 Researchers (Prof., ass. Prof., Post-docs, PhD)
  • 59 Doctoral students and students
  • 0 Engineers
  • 0 Technicians
  • 11 Other

Business sector(s)

  • Human and Social Sciences

Contact

Identities. Policies, Societies, Spaces (IPSE)
Campus Walferdange, Route de Diekirch, BP 2, L-7220 Walferdange
Luxembourg
Phone: +352 46 66 44 96 67
Email: brigitte.batyko@uni.lu
Site: http://ipse.uni.lu

R&D Contact

Prof. SCHULZ Christian
Professor and Head of Research Unit IPSE
Phone: +352 46 66 44 63 27
Email: christian.schulz@uni.lu

R&D Contact

Prof. GILLES Peter
Professor and Deputy Head of Research Unit IPSE
Phone: +352 46 66 44 63 83
Email: peter.gilles@uni.lu

R&D Contact

Ms BATYKO Brigitte
Research facilitator
Phone: +352 46 66 44 96 67
Email: brigitte.batyko@uni.lu

  • Updated 29-06-2015

Identités. Politiques, Sociétés, Espaces (IPSE)

Compétences

Principaux axes de recherche

L’unité de recherche IPSE est une unité multidisciplinaire et transdisciplinaire qui étudie les sociétés et leurs développements dans le temps et dans l’espace. Elle répond aux besoins de la société luxembourgeoise de réfléchir sur elle-même, afin de comprendre les évolutions importantes qu’elle vit actuellement dans son double contexte de la Grande Région et de l’Union européenne.

L’unité rassemble des chercheurs spécialisés en histoire, géographie et aménagement du territoire, en littérature et linguistique, dans les arts, en philosophie, en sciences politiques et sociales. Le principal objectif est d’étudier, de manière comparative, la construction de nouvelles identités considérée comme un concept pluriel et dynamique, ainsi que leurs corrélations avec la diversité et l’intégration.

Le Luxembourg, fort de sa société relativement hétérogène, qui s’avère présenter un défi tout en offrant une opportunité, pourrait être, de ce fait, un cas d’espèce unique dans la zone européenne.

La recherche se structure en deux programmes complémentaires:

  • Le programme "Études luxembourgeoises" propose une compréhension plus éclairée de la future évolution culturelle, linguistique, sociale, politique et économique du Luxembourg, en s’intéressant à des questions telles que l’interculturalité, le multilinguisme, la migration et la diversité, la cohésion sociale et l’équité, les sexes et les modifications des valeurs et références.
  • Le programme "Gouvernance européenne" adopte une approche comparative au niveau européen des questions liées à la cohésion sociale et aux identités, à la construction sociale des espaces et des frontières, aux processus de prise de décision et à la légitimation, ainsi qu’à la place de l’Europe dans le monde.

Projets de recherche en cours

Actuellement, l’Unité de Recherche compte environ 60 projets de recherche qui couvrent toutes les disciplines représentées au sein de l’IPSE (l’histoire, les sciences politiques, la sociologie, linguistique et littérature allemandes, françaises et luxembourgeoises, la géographie et l’aménagement du territoire, l’art, la philosophie et les gender studies). Ils se consacrent, dans une perspective en partie interdisciplinaire, à des sujets centraux relatifs à la société. Ils portent sur le Luxembourg, la Grande Région et l’Europe. En outre, dans le cadre de nombreuses activités de recherche, des coopérations étroites entre les multiples réseaux et cellules se sont nouées.

Pour plus d’informations : http://ipse.uni.lu (-> recherche)

 

Ressources et collaborations

Equipement

  • Archives et bibliothèques avec bases de données électroniques
  • Systèmes d’information géographique (SIG)

Produits et services (y compris méthodes, procédés et technologies)

  • Savoir-faire et compétences dans plus de 10 disciplines relevant des sciences humaines et sociales
  • Méthodes de recherche quantitatives et qualitatives

Principaux partenariats et/ou collaborations (national et international)

AGORA; Dexia; CEPS/INSTEAD; Ministère de l’Intérieur et à la Grande Région; Ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche; Ministère de l’Égalité des chances; Chambre des Députés, Centre de Recherche Public - Henri Tudor; Centre de Recherche Public - Gabriel Lippmann; universités (au Luxembourg et à l’étranger); institutions culturelles; plusieurs associations.

Ressources humaines

  • 98 Chercheurs (Prof., ass. Prof., Post-docs, Dr.)
  • 59 Doctorants et étudiants
  • 0 Ingénieurs
  • 0 Techniciens
  • 11 Autres

Secteur(s) d'activité(s)

  • Sciences humaines et sociales

Contact

Identités. Politiques, Sociétés, Espaces (IPSE)
Campus Walferdange, Route de Diekirch, BP 2, L-7220 Walferdange
Luxembourg
Tél. : +352 46 66 44 96 67
E-mail : brigitte.batyko@uni.lu
Site : http://ipse.uni.lu

Personne de contact R&D

Prof. SCHULZ Christian
Professeur et Responsable de l'Unité de Recherche IPSE
Tél. : +352 46 66 44 63 27
E-mail : christian.schulz@uni.lu

Personne de contact R&D

Prof. GILLES Peter
Professeur et Responsable adjoint de l'Unité de Recherche IPSE
Tél. : +352 46 66 44 63 83
E-mail : peter.gilles@uni.lu

Personne de contact R&D

Mme BATYKO Brigitte
Research facilitator
Tél. : +352 46 66 44 96 67
E-mail : brigitte.batyko@uni.lu

  • Mis à jour le 29-06-2015