Interdisciplinary Centre for Security, Reliability and Trust (SnT)

Competences

Main axes of research

The Interdisciplinary Centre for Security, Reliability and Trust (SnT) at the University of Luxembourg conducts internationally competitive research in information and communication technology (ICT) with a focus on creating socio-economic impact. The centre attracts talented researchers from all over the world to work on collaborative projects with industry and the public sector. 

SnT is guided by the principle that excellent scientific research can address the most pressing challenges society faces, and support industry in developing solutions. This foundation defines our set-up. We have a partnership model that enables truly collaborative exchanges. It allows​ us to have access to relevant challenges, real-world data, and systems to test our research results. This approach creates a lively ecosystem that feeds the local talent pool, and supports the local economy. ​Since its launch in 2009, SnT has established partnerships with more than 45 organisations.

Current research projects

SnT's partnership programme allows research activity to be leveraged with public research funding through the European Framework Programme, European Space Agency, and the National Research Funding Agency (FNR). Industrial PhD student projects allow candidates to collaborate closely with a partner from industry or a government body. 

A list of our projects is available here: https://wwwfr.uni.lu/snt/research/our_research_projects

Resources and collaborations

Equipment

SnT counts multiple laboratory infrastructures, which support its research activities and ensure that research output will be carried closer to exploitation.

These include:

  • Computer Vision Lab

  • LunaLab

  • Aerial Robotics Lab

  • SatComLab

  • CubeSatLab

  • Concurrent Design Facility

  • 360 Lab

  • Zero Gravity Lab

Products and services

SnT collaborates with public and private partners through an established model, our Partnership Programme. Companies of all sizes, entities and agencies come to work with our researchers to achieve their innovation and optimisation goals. In return, researchers get access to relevant challenges, real-word data, and systems to test their research results. 

The key benefits for partners include:

  • Gaining access to world-class research and talent

  • Leveraging state-of-the-art infrastructure

  • 50/50 co-financing for the joint project

 

Intellectual Property and Spin-offs are another important aspect of the SnT mission. Our research centre is committed to supporting the local economy by fuelling an innovative business climate. As researchers work today to solve the challenges of tomorrow, they regularly develop exciting new solutions for real-world scenarios. These can be turned into spin-off projects, or patents. Today SnT has five spin-offs. 

Cutting-edge research is the foundation of the SnT model. Attracting world-class researchers to Luxembourg has enabled the centre to gain recognition as a leader in ICT research since our founding in 2009. SnT has received five ERC grants, and contributed to over 80 EU and ESA projects. 

These guiding principles come together to form an innovation ecosystem. Regularly hosting seminars and conferences, as well as general networking events, allows SnT’s research to be discovered by potential partners, other researchers, and the public.

Companies and individuals looking to gain more insight into how our research can help them innovate should contact the SnT Technology Transfer Office: snt-tto@uni.lu

Major partnerships and collaborations

SnT has formed key research collaborations focusing on six strategic research areas. In the FinTech sector CSSF, BNP Paribas, and Ripple, as well as other respected names, both in Luxembourg and abroad, work with SnT. In the field of autonomous vehicles key partners include Foyer, IEE, and the start-up Civil Maps. The Post Luxembourg and multiple manufacturers work on projects related to the Internet of Things. For cybersecurity SnT works with Huawei and Proximus, among others. In the domain of secure and compliant data management the international law firm LinkLaters uses SnT expertise, as well as multiple branches of the Luxembourg Government. And finally, in space systems we work with the leading satellite operator, SES. 

Find here the full list of SnT’s Partners: https://wwwen.uni.lu/snt/partnership_programme/partners

Human resources

  • 152 Researchers (Prof., ass. Prof., Post-docs, PhD)
  • 153 Doctoral students and students
  • 0 Engineers
  • 0 Technicians
  • 49 Other

Business sector(s)

  • Information and Communication Technologies
  • Technology Watch
  • Aeronautics and space

Contact

Interdisciplinary Centre for Security, Reliability and Trust (SnT)
29, Avenue J.F Kennedy L-1855 Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Phone: +352 46 66 44 5010
Fax: +352 46 66 44 56 69
Email: snt@uni.lu
Site: https://www.uni.lu/snt

R&D Contact

Prof. Dr. OTTERSTEN Björn
Director
Phone: +352 46 66 44 56 65
Email: bjorn.ottersten@uni.lu

R&D Contact

Prof. Dr. LE TRAON Yves
Vice-Director
Phone: +352 46 66 44 5262
Email: yves.letraon@uni.lu

R&D Contact

Dr. DUPREL Carlo
Head of Technology Transfer Office
Phone: +352 46 66 44 5078
Email: carlo.duprel@uni.lu

  • Updated 28-04-2021

Interdisciplinary Centre for Security, Reliability and Trust (SnT)

Compétences

Principaux axes de recherche

Le Interdisciplinary Centre for Security, Reliability and Trust (SnT) de l’Université du Luxembourg mène des recherches concurrentielles au niveau international dans le secteur des technologies de l’information et de la communication (TIC), en mettant l’accent sur la création d’un impact socio-économique. Le centre attire des chercheurs talentueux du monde entier qui viennent travailler sur des projets collaboratifs avec l’industrie et le secteur public. 

Le SnT est guidé par le principe selon lequel une recherche scientifique d’excellence peut répondre aux défis les plus urgents auxquels la société est confrontée, et soutenir l’industrie dans l’élaboration de solutions. C’est cette base qui définit notre organisation. Nous avons un modèle de partenariat qui permet des échanges véritablement collaboratifs. Il nous permet d’avoir accès à des défis pertinents, à des données du monde réel et à des systèmes permettant de tester nos résultats de recherche. Cette approche crée un écosystème vivant qui alimente la réserve de talents locaux et soutient l’économie locale. Depuis son lancement en 2009, SnT a établi des partenariats avec plus de 45 organisations.

Projets de recherche en cours

Le programme de partenariat du SnT permet de tirer parti des activités de recherche grâce au financement public attribué à celle-ci par le biais du programme-cadre européen, de l’Agence spatiale européenne et de l’Agence nationale de financement de la recherche (FNR). Les projets d’étudiants en doctorat industriel permettent aux candidats de collaborer étroitement avec un partenaire de l’industrie ou un organisme gouvernemental. 

Une liste de nos projets est disponible ici: https://wwwfr.uni.lu/snt/research/our_research_projects

Ressources et collaborations

Equipement

Le SnT compte de multiples infrastructures de laboratoire, qui soutiennent ses activités de recherche et garantissent que les résultats de la recherche seront portés plus près de l’exploitation. Ceux-ci comprennent :

  • Computer Vision Lab

  • LunaLab

  • Aerial Robotics Lab (Laboratoire robotique aérienne)

  • SatComLab

  • CubeSatLab

  • Concurrent Design Facility

  • 360 Lab

  • Zero Gravity Lab (Laboratoire zéro gravité)

Produits et services (y compris méthodes, procédés et technologies)

Le SnT collabore avec des partenaires publics et privés à travers un modèle bien établi, notre Partnership Programme. Des entreprises de toutes tailles, entités et agences viennent travailler avec nos chercheurs pour atteindre leurs objectifs d’innovation et d’optimisation. En retour, les chercheurs ont accès à des défis pertinents, à des données du monde réel et à des systèmes leur permettant de tester les résultats de leurs recherches. 

Les principaux avantages pour les partenaires sont notamment les suivants :

  • Obtenir l’accès à des recherches et à des talents de classe mondiale
  • Tirer parti d’une infrastructure de pointe
  • Cofinancement 50/50 pour le projet conjoint

La propriété intellectuelle et les spin-offs constituent un autre aspect important de la mission SnT. Notre centre de recherche s’engage à soutenir l’économie locale en boostant un climat commercial innovant. Alors que les chercheurs s’efforcent aujourd’hui de résoudre les défis de demain, ils développent régulièrement de nouvelles solutions passionnantes pour des situations réelles. Ceux-ci peuvent être transformés en projets spin-offs ou en brevets. À l’heure actuelle, le SnT possède cinq spin-offs. 

La recherche de pointe est le fondement du modèle SnT. Attirer des chercheurs de classe mondiale au Luxembourg a permis au centre d’être reconnu comme un leader de la recherche TIC depuis sa création en 2009. Le SnT a reçu cinq subventions du CER et a contribué à plus de 80 projets de l’UE et de l’ESA. 

Ces principes directeurs s’associent pour former un écosystème d’innovation. L’organisation régulière de séminaires et de conférences, ainsi que d’événements généraux de mise en réseau, permet aux partenaires potentiels, aux autres chercheurs et au public de découvrir les recherches du SnT. Pour plus d'info, contacter l’Office de transfert de technologie SnT: snt-tto@uni.lu

Principaux partenariats et/ou collaborations (national et international)

Le SnT a formé des collaborations de recherche clés axées sur six domaines de recherche stratégiques. Dans le secteur FinTech, la CSSF, BNP Paribas et Ripple, ainsi que d’autres noms respectés, tant au Luxembourg qu’à l’étranger, travaillent avec le SnT. Dans le domaine des véhicules autonomes, les principaux partenaires comprennent Foyer, IEE et la start-up Civil Maps. Post Luxembourg et plusieurs fabricants travaillent sur des projets liés à Internet des objets. Pour ce qui est de la cybersécurité, le SnT travaille avec Huawei et Proximus, entre autres. Dans le domaine de la gestion sécurisée et conforme des données, le cabinet d’avocats international LinkLaters utilise l’expertise du SnT, ainsi que plusieurs branches du gouvernement luxembourgeois. Et enfin, concernant les systèmes spatiaux, nous travaillons avec l’opérateur satellite leader, SES. 


Vous trouverez ici la liste complète des partenaires du SnT:  https://wwwen.uni.lu/snt/partnership_programme/partners

Ressources humaines

  • 152 Chercheurs (Prof., ass. Prof., Post-docs, Dr.)
  • 153 Doctorants et étudiants
  • 0 Ingénieurs
  • 0 Techniciens
  • 49 Autres

Secteur(s) d'activité(s)

  • Technologies de l'Information et de la Communication
  • Veille technologique
  • Aéronautique et espace

Contact

Interdisciplinary Centre for Security, Reliability and Trust (SnT)
29, Avenue J.F Kennedy L-1855 Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Tél. : +352 46 66 44 5010
Fax : +352 46 66 44 56 69
E-mail : snt@uni.lu
Site : https://www.uni.lu/snt

Personne de contact R&D

Prof. Dr. OTTERSTEN Björn
Director
Tél. : +352 46 66 44 56 65
E-mail : bjorn.ottersten@uni.lu

Personne de contact R&D

Prof. Dr. LE TRAON Yves
Vice-Director
Tél. : +352 46 66 44 5262
E-mail : yves.letraon@uni.lu

Personne de contact R&D

Dr. DUPREL Carlo
Head of Technology Transfer Office
Tél. : +352 46 66 44 5078
E-mail : carlo.duprel@uni.lu

  • Mis à jour le 28-04-2021